Birthday Gurmeet Batra  

Famous playwright & Nobel Prize winner Derek Walcott

Famous playwright & Nobel Prize winner Derek Walcott was born on 23 January 1930 and died on 17 March 2017 in Saint Lucia. He was a West Indies poet and playwright remarked for jobs that traverse the Caribbean aesthetic knowledge. He earned the Nobel Prize for Literature in the year 1992. He started penning poetry at a new age, also he contributed in articles and discussions to publications in Trinidad and Jamaica countries. Creations of his show play started in Saint Lucia in the year 1950, and he received his education in theatre in New York City in the year from 1958 to 59. He continued living consequently in Trinidad and the United States of America, qualifying for a portion of the time at University Boston.

Famous playwright & Nobel Prize winner Derek Walcott
Famous playwright & Nobel Prize winner Derek Walcott

Walcott was famously remembered for his poem, starting with In a Green Night: Poems which was published from 1948 to 1960. This book is characteristic of his old poetry in its commemoration of the Caribbean landscape’s inherent elegance. The poem in Selected Poems which was published in the year 1964, The Castaway which was published in 1965, and The Gulf which was published in the year 1969 are likewise green in method and dreamy in feeling as Walcott reveals his feelings of individual self-sufficiency.

From the early year of the 1970s, Walcott began using more extra time in America, developing imaginative literature at renowned universities like Harvard and Columbia University. simultaneously, he proceeded to publish novels like ‘Dream on Monkey Mountain and Other Plays’ which was published in the year 1970, ‘The Gulf’ which was published in the year 1970,’ Another Life’ which was published in the year 1973, ‘Sea Grapes’ which was published in the year 1976, and ‘The Star-Apple Kingdom’ which was published in the year 1979.

Derek Walcott's poem
Derek Walcott’s poem

In attachment to getting the Nobel Prize, Walcott won many belletristic honors across the progression of his profession, including an Obie Award which he received in the year 1971 for his drama play called Dream on Monkey Mountain, MacArthur Foundation “genius” award, a Royal Society of Literature Award, the Queen’s Medal for his exceptional Poetry, the initiatory OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature, in the year 2011 T. S. Eliot Prize for his novel of poem White Egrets.