Events Gurmeet Batra  

Ashoka Pillar was adopted as the national emblem

Ashoka Pillar was adopted as the national emblem on 26 January 1950. The national symbol is a modified version of the Lion Capital, originally discovered on top of the Ashoka pillar at Sarnath, in Uttar Pradesh built in 250 BC. The center holds four Asian lions symbolizing strength, courage, pride, power, and determination sedentary on a winding abacus. The abacus has figures of a bull, a horse, a lion, and an elephant. In the national symbol, three Asian lions are apparent; the abacus reveals a bull and horse divided by a dharma chakra; the edges of two added dharma chakras are noticeable on each side of the abacus.

Ashoka Pillar in Sarnath

The national emblem’s interpretation is “a heraldic symbol or representative object as a distinguishing symbol of a country, society, or subdivision”. The National symbol is the realistic perspective of the Lion Capital that formerly graced on the top of the Ashok Stambh at Sarnath, simultaneously with the National slogan penned below it.

The capital was chosen as the national emblem on January 26, 1950. It was adopted as a representative of modern India’s confirmation of belief of its antiquated dedication to world brotherhood and goodwill. The national emblem is a symbol of the Government of India and is applied on official records; it is the official authorization seal of the President of India and the Central and state legislatures. The figure is recognized universally as describing the Republic of India and is observed on all passports and other international documents of Indian citizens. 

Ashoka Pillar was adopted as the national emblem
Ashoka Pillar was adopted as the national emblem

The national symbol of India is an alteration of the Lion Capital on top of the Ashoka Pillar of Sarnath and is connected with the National epigraph Satyameva Jayate. The Lion Capital was selected as the National Emblem of India on 26 January, in the year 1950. It was a confirmation of the recently obtained Republic status of India. 

The National Emblem is applied on official views only and requires trustworthy honor from the residents of India. It serves as the official allowance seal for all general and state government buildings and is the necessary component of each letterhead applied by the government of India. It highlights exquisitely on all currency notes as well as on coins diplomatic credentials certificates like the passports published by the Republic of India. The National Emblem is the representation of independence for India.